Monday, December 21

Buhari, Jonathan, Tinubu, Jega emerge Vanguard personalitis of the year 2015

President Muhammadu Buhari, former president Goodluck Jonathan, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and former INEC chairman Professor Attahiru Jega have all been picked as Vanguard personalities of the year for 2015. Vanguard says they are the men that stood out in 2015 and described them as heros of democracy. See what they wrote about Buhari, Jonathan and Tinubu and the other lists for Best Governors and Lifetime Achievements, after the cut......

Muhammadu Buhari was focused in his persistent pursuit of the presidency. Having attained the maximum political office as a military head of state 32 years earlier at the age of 41, Buhari seemed determined to regain political office as president.

He submitted himself to a democratic process that in its course projected the re-engineering of the political landscape. In the end and for the first time in the nation’s political history, an incumbent president was defeated in an election.

Dr. Goodluck Jonathan – Personality of the Year, 2015

Like the mortal he is, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan’s fairy tale political expedition was bound to come to an end. Following his advent, President Jonathan had promised to sanitise the electoral process, just as nearly all of the nation’s previous leaders. Dr. Jonathan, however, proved to be an exception allowing the incorporation of an electoral system that eventually  led to his defeat.

President Jonathan’s decision not to seek judicial or other crude disruption of the outcome of the 2015 presidential election not only turned out to be his finest hour, but a glittering anchor that has helped to stabilise the nation’s democracy.

For his brave smile in the face of defeat, his efforts in refining the nation’s electoral system and his continuing continental role in the promotion of democracy, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan is the choice of Vanguard editors for Joint Personality of the Year, 2015.

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu – Hero of Democracy

Unarguably one of the country’s leading political engineers, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has now taken his remarkable political wizardry to the national space. His dogged resistance to the encroachments of the former ruling party in Lagos State, and to its routing in most of the Southwest states, largely bore the footprints of the former Lagos State governor.

Tinubu’s central role in the enthronement of the new administration and the eclipse of the former government has been generally acknowledged by friends and foes. Remarkably, he has achieved his aim within the rules of democracy. For his political dexterity and commitment to the rule of law in his political engagements, Vanguard recognises Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the Hero of Democracy, 2015.

Lifetime Achievements Awards

*Otunba Michael Olasubomi Balogun, Chairman, First City Group

*Lt. Gen. T.Y. Danjuma (Rtd)

*Alhaji Abdulsamad Rabiu, Chairman, BUA Group

*Dr. Alex Ekwueme, former Vice-President

*Senator David Dafinone, Eminent Accountant

 *Chief (Mrs) Nike Akande, President, LCCI

 African Businessman of The Year

 *Dr Mike Adenuga, Jnr, Chairman, Globacom

Governors of The Year

Adams Oshiomhole, Governor, Edo State
Ibikunle Amosun, Governor, Ogun State
Kashim Shettima, Governor, Borno State
Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe State Gov

No comments:

Post a Comment