Tuesday, December 15

CAF announces Yaya Toure, Ayew, Aubameyang as final nominees for player of the year

The Confederation of African Football (CAF), has announced Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Yaya Toure, as the final candidates for the African Footballer of the Year.

Toure was Ivory Coast’s captain, as they won this year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea and the Manchester City midfielder is the current holder of the award. If he wins it this time, it will be for a record fifth consecutive year.

Aubameyang came second behind Toure last time, but is a strong contender for the 2015 prize, after a sensational year with Borussia Dortmund. The Gabon international has already scored 26 times in 25 appearances for the Bundesliga team across competitions this campaign.

Ghana’s Ayew moved to Swansea from Marseille in June and has scored six times in the Premier League.

The winner will be named on January 7, at an event in Abuja.

No comments:

Post a Comment