Saturday, August 13

FG forms railway lines concession committee

The Federal Government on Friday constituted a 20-member steering committee on the concessioning of the Eastern and Western lines of the Nigeria Railways. The move is said to be aimed at spurring a transformation of the railway infrastructure in the country.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo inaugurated the committee headed by the Minister of Transportation, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

A statement by his spokesperson, Mr. Laolu Akande, quoted the Vice-President as saying that the purpose of the committee was to create a one-stop shop for the concession, fast track the process and beat the red-tape and bureaucratic bottlenecks.

Mr. Rotimi Amaechi also said the committee was set up to ensure the concession of the nation’s railway and is expected to submit its report in six months time.

The committee is composed of officials and individuals from relevant public and private sectors.

No comments:

Post a Comment